Minnetonka Youth Hockey Association Approved Board of Director's Meeting Minutes May 18, 2009 Pagel Activity Center, Minnetonka, MN

Board Members present: Pat Egan, Chris Evans, Anne Madson, Nicole Durocher, Tony Weinzetl, Jon Harris, Jeff Williams, Lisa Sanderson, TJ Worrell, Sheila McMillan, Doug Howe, Lance Nelson, Jim Wiberg, Sharon Morgan

Meeting was called to order at 8:04p by Sharon Morgan.

.

MYHA Board Positions for 2009-2010:

General description of all Board positions was given. Discussion from Board members on which position they would like to hold.

MYHA 2009-2010 Board:

President: Sharon Morgan Vice President: Lance Nelson

Treasurer: Anne Madson Secretary: Lisa Sanderson Registrar: Tony Weinzetl

Boys Team Director: Doug Howe

Girls Team Director:TJ Worrell Mite Director: Jeff Williams Equipment: Jim Wiberg Fundraiser: Nicole Durocher

Ice: Chris Evans

Sponsorships: Pat Egan

Volunteer Coordinator: Sheila McMillan Tournament Director: Jon Harris

Motion to approve, Durocher, Second, Howe. Motion passed unanimously.

TST Website Update:

MYHA Board sub-committee has been exploring alternatives to our current website. Committee recommended our switch to TST website based on the following:

- -costs are same as current website system
- -updating and changing information on website is easy for us to make
- -Processing credit card fees are same as the old system
- -TST is used by Woodbury Youth Hockey Association, District 3 Hockey. Both District 6 hockey and Minnesota Hockey are making the change to TST shortly.

- -Has capability to upload videos. Great for instructional purposes as well as for team pages
- -Can select certain members for emailing purposes. Allowing for more targeted emails to MYHA members.

Motion made to approve change to TST for MYHA website, Evans, Second, Williams.

Redistricting:

District 6 Director Brad Hewitt asked several Associations to consider a move to another District in Minnesota Hockey to reduce number of Associations in District 6. Minnetonka was asked to move to District 3.

Board discussed the following:

Pro's:

-District 3 is not as regulated as District 6 in terms of team numbers and divisions.

Con's:

- -District 3 Girls program is run jointly with District 2, which would mean travel to Stillwater, White Bear Lake, Tartan, Roseville, etc. This would make our girls schedule tough in terms of distance to travel.
- -Minnetonka would lose youth hockey players who open enroll at our schools but reside in Chaska/Chanhassen school district.
- -District 3 does not mandate balanced teams at Squirt, Pee Wee and Bantam Levels. We have an Association philosophy in place pertaining to level of play.

Board voted unanimously not in favor of redistricting for Minnetonka Youth Hockey Association.

Squirts Adding Another Level – A2:

At the District 6 Meeting, Associations the size of Edina (which includes Eden Prairie and Minnetonka) were asked by Edina to consider a mandate to have both A1 and A2 teams at the Squirt level.

This would mean top 15 players on A1 team, next 15 players on A2 team. Board discussed and decided to let Edina know that we would prefer they balance their 2 A teams.

Board voted unanimously not in favor of adding an A2 Level to Squirt teams.

District 6 President's Meeting June 22:

Requires attendance by President, Girls Director and Ace Director. (Morgan, Worrell, Teal)

New Business:

- Board members should schedule a meeting with previous Board personnel who held their positions for purposes of turning over files, records, etc. This should be done in the next week or so.
- Discussed MYHA Board Meeting dates through August, 2009. Chose Monday, June 15, Monday, July 13 and Monday, August 17 at 8pm for meetings. Location, tbd.
- Miscellanous questions about Pagel Activity Center were discussed. The Board will be briefed at an upcoming meeting about Pagel to answer these questions.

A motion to adjourn was made by Howe, second by Wiberg at 10:12pm.

Minutes submitted by: Lisa Sanderson, MYHA Secretary

Minutes Approved: June 15, 2009

Motion to Approve: Chris Evans (Board Member)

Second: Doug Howe (Board Member)