

2011 Board Members Mark Hjelle – President Jason Hillstrom - Vice President Greg Winter – Treasurer Greg Karp – Secretary John Boyle Kevin Kielsa Lee Pattridge Scott Rice Deb Kipp Pete Heyer Trish Dahl Mike Eckert (Life Time Member)

February 2012 MSA Board Meeting Minutes

Attendees:

Mike Eckert, Mark Hjelle, Scott Rice, Lee Partidge, Trish Dahl, Julio Fesser, Pete Heyer, Megan Schmidt, Andrea Cegielski, Deb Kipp, John Boyl, Kevin Kielsa, Julie Loughlin, Don Yeick, Bob Maixner, Meryl Steinhauser, Greg Karp, Jason Hillstrom.

Secretary Report: Greg Karp -

• The December meetings were accepted.

Treasurer Report: Greg Winter -

• No Update

Registrars Report: John Boyle, Andrea Cegielski -

- Currently registering players on the new NGIN web site. Andrea reviewed the new web site and registrations. Teams need to be into the MYSA by March 5th.
- Tournament registration is not up and running. We need to get this taken care of. Mark to send Andrea the word Doc. form for the tournament registration. She will load this onto the web site.
- A discussion was had on the level of security and access privileges that we need on the web site. Some board members want to access and print reports. "Need to Know basis."
- John will work on report generation, Andrea on NGIN web design and capabilities.

Tournament Directors Report: Mark Hjelle -

- Tournament Dates, May 11, 12 and 13.
- The new web site will be up shortly to allow teams to register for the tournament.

Referees Report: Gene Warner -

• No update.

Director of In House Age Group Coordinators: Deb Kipp -

- Current format for U7/U8 is 6 v 6, Deb would like to get back to the 4v4 format that MYSA recommends.
- To support this we need more coaches.
- Past issues has been, Parking, volunteers and Field space.

Director of Age Group Coordinators, Traveling: Trish Dahl -

- U15/U16, U17/U18 girls need an age group coordinator.
- A meeting will be held with Sarah Johnson from "Identity Store". This fits in well with the new web site.
- MAEF wants a donation from Soccer. The board discussed and voted on to donate one In house registration only, plus one soccer ball and uniform.

Director of Coaching Report: Kevin Kielsa –

- The DOC is in charge of managing background checks and concussion training.
- Age coordinators should be aware that winter training continues thru the month of March.
- A discussion was had around the value of having goalkeeper training for the inhouse program.
- Kevin would like the format of the winter training to change for the 2012 to 2013 winter training session.
- Suggestions were to break up the sessions into seasons and ask for payment.
- Roll the payment into training shirt.
- 10 coaches attended the winter symposium.
- Coaches training has been set and is as follows.
 - Wed 3/7/12 Mahtomedi MS (6th Grade Resource Center) 7:00 to 9:00 PM, Classroom – Club Organization, Philosophies, Strategies, Player Competencies, Discussion of training session
 - Wed 3/21 Mahtomedi MS Gym 1 7:00 to 9:00 PM
 Gym Training session building the practice and game Warm Up
 - Wed 3/28 Mahtomedi MS Gym 1 7:00 to 9:00 PM Gym – Training session – building the individual skill practice & transition to small sided activity
 - Wed 4/4 Mahtomedi MS Gym 1 7:00 to 9:00 PM Gym - Training Session - building the large sided practice & Goalie training.

East District Rep Report: Lee Pattridge -

• See Attached

Web Site Coordinator: Deb Kipp -

- Would like to continue to improve on the web site.
- Is going to place a like on the MSA web site to the MYSA web site on soccer camps.

Equipment Coordinator: Mike Eckert/Scott Rice

• No Update.

Misc Items: All -

- Athletic council is having a meeting on the proposal to have an umbrella association overlook all the individual athletic associations. Feb 8th, 6PM, Media Center. There are advantages and disadvantages to this.
- Field use meeting on Feb 16th, 7:30 to 8:30 AM, District Ed
- A discussion was held on the upcoming board positions. Per the December 2010 board meetings the following people were elected for a two-year terms, (2011 to 2012). Mark Hjelle, Jason Hillstrom, Kevin Kielsa, Lee Pattridge, Deb Kipp, Amy Sparrow, Trish Dahl. The following board member terms are up at the end of 2011 John Boyle, Greg Winter, Scott Rice, Greg Karp, Peter Heyer.
- A vote was conducted and the following board members were elected for a two year term. 2012 to 2013. After the board members were elected an election for officers was conducted. This is reflected in the list below.
 - Julio Fesser (President)
 - Don Yeeyick (Vice President)
 - Greg Winter (Treasurer)
 - Megan Schmidt
 - Trish Dahl (Secretary)
 - o Andrea Cegielski
 - Pete Heyer
 - Scott Rice
- These board members will remain until the end of 2012.
 - o Mark Hjelle
 - o Jason Hilsrom
 - Kevin Kielsa
 - Deb Kipp

----NOTICE-----

Next Board Meeting March 5, 2012 7 to 9 PM, 7th grade resource room.