Peter Rush Award

Peter Rush was originally involved with youth hockey in the Buffalo, New York area. In the early 1960's, he was an integral part of the expansion and growth of the Buffalo Shamrocks Athletic Club, an original member of the New York State Amateur Hockey Association. He was one of our early USA Hockey Directors from New York and was ultimately elected as a National Director. As time went on, Peter's involvement with USA Hockey (then known as AHAUS) grew and he was recognized for his efforts by being selected as the first National Championship Chairman overseeing all National Tournaments. Peter along with Bob Allen and several others, was fundamental in the initial growth of youth hockey throughout New York State. Peter passed away in the late 80's after a long illness. In 1989 the New York State Amateur Hockey Association established "The Peter Rush Award" in his honor and is dedicated to his long and strong commitment to youth hockey. This award is presented annually to a person who has displayed a selfless long-term dedication and commitment to the growth of youth hockey. The recipient must be from the Section in which the Annual Meeting of the membership is held.

Award Winners

- 2023 Richard Scammell Troy
- 2022 Ron Caccavale Valhalla
- 2021 Janice Cavaretta Buffalo
- 2020 Dave Marcellus Louisville
- 2019 Chuck Gridley Skaneateles
- 2018 Tom Branden Depew
- 2017 Mark DeSimone New York City
- 2016 Rick Pratt Oswego
- 2015 Gavin Regan Potsdam
- 2014 Joe Trimarchi Carle Place
- 2013 Alan Elia Lewiston
- 2012 Bobby Smith Massena
- 2011 Garl Lebrun Syracuse
- 2010 David Braunstein Kenmore
- 2009 Sandy Irwin Freeport
- 2008 Pete Sears & Ed Gosek Oswego
- 2007 Kim White Saratoga Springs
- 2006 Mark Chinitz New York City
- 2005 Bill Chamberlin Buffalo
- 2004 Dave Rider Glenmont
- 2003 Linda O'Neil Hamilton
- 2002 Joe Baudo Tonawanda
- 2001 Bob Karman Hicksville
- 2000 Doug Ackley Oswego
- 1999 Larry McCauley Redfield
- 1998 Bill Hall Port Jefferson Station

- 1997 Peter Preteroti Depew
- 1996 Bud Sherburne Potsdam
- 1995 Nick Marsit Ithaca
- 1994 Charlie & Dolly Dickson Tonawanda
- 1993 Charlie Millner Plainview
- 1992 Paul Furman Oswego
- 1991 Bob Allen Lake Placid
- 1990 Chris Kirgan New Hyde Park
- 1998 Tom Korpolinski Lewiston