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The USA Hockey Rulebook and Playing Rules Casebook can be found on the Officials page atwww.usahockey.com.
 
Answers to other questions may be found at the Officials page atwww.usahockey.com.
 
Thank you for all your submissions.If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us atasktheofficial@usahockey.org.



QUESTION: After receiving a game misconduct (1 game suspenion), you have three non-league games, then a league game. Should you miss all non-league games? Also the league game is more then 3 hours away. May the player serve a different game?

ANSWER: Since all suspensions and other forms of discipline are handled by the player’s or coach’s Local Governing Body (League, Association, Affiliate, etc.) we recommend contacting them with this question. They will be able to tell you how the suspension must be served.


QUESTION: I was reading the Week 7 ATO forum regarding a tripping penalty 639(a)2.  The question was, is it a tripping penalty when a defensive player dives and hits the puck with his stick, but subsequently knocks the attacking player down? The answer stated that it was a penalty despite hitting the puck first. I would argue that the rule states that the tripping penalty is a specific intent to trip the offensive player, or player with the puck. In the Week 7 situation, there was no intent of tripping the player with the puck, just intent on hitting the puck away. No intent to trip, no penalty. 

ANSWER: There is no wording or interpretation within Rule 639 that stipulates a player must “intend” to trip an opponent to be assessed a Tripping penalty. Simply put, a player cannot dive and sweep a player’s legs out from under him. Instead, he must use speed and stick skills to catch the player and legally retrieve the puck.


QUESTION: If a player is moving forward with the puck and a defending player stick-presses him causing the attacking player to lose forward motion, is this hooking?

ANSWER: Stick-presses are allowed within the USA Hockey Playing Rules as long as they are confined to the lower portion of the opponent’s stick. Once they target the glove area of the stick and take away a legally gained advantage, or create an illegal advantage the act must be penalized.


QUESTION: Is there ever a circumstance when in the case where one team isassessed two minor penalties to two different players and the other teamis assessed a single minor to a single player where it would be the officials' determination as to which player should leave the penalty box first (i.e. which one is the coincidental minor, and which one is the non-coincidental minor)?  Does it matter what the specific calls were (for instance, where a delayed penalty is being signaled for tripping, but at the whistle two other players engage in an altercation)?
ANSWER: In most cases where,
	Clock Time
	Team A
	Team B

	2:35 – 2nd P
	#6 – 2min
	#15 – 2min

	 
	 
	#7 – 2min

	 
	 
	 


Team B would have the option of deciding which player (#15 or #7) is eligible to be released on termination or expiration of their penalty. However, there are rare cases where the playing rules would make the decision more obvious,
	Clock Time
	Team A
	Team B

	14:37 – 3rd P
	#6 – 2min
	#15 – 2min

	 
	 
	#7 – 2min + 10min


In this case, since #7 received an extra ten minute misconduct his minor would be paired with # 6 from Team A. This would prevent Team B from having to place an additional player in the penalty box for #7’s minor.


QUESTION: The rules are not specific on it, but the casebook states that the temporary goalkeeper shall be given time to acquire the chest protector, gloves and stick of a goalie.  Is a player required to obtain these items to be a temporary goalkeeper?  Can a player assume the role with standard player gear (including stick)?  Or is there a certain minimum amount of equipment that must be “traded out” to assume the role?
ANSWER: A player is not required to wear any of the goalkeeper equipment while assigned as a temporary goalkeeper. However, once that player is designated as the temporary goalkeeper,
· He is bound by the restrictions of a goalkeeper (he may not play the puck over the red line).
· He is bound by all substitution rules (he may not go to the bench during a stoppage).
· He may not be changed as temporary goalkeeper at any time during the game unless a regular goalkeeper becomes available.



