NEW YORK STATE AMATEUR



HOCKEY ASSOCIATION, INC.

Bob Allen Scholarships

Each year at the Annual Meeting of the New York State Amateur Hockey Association, The Bob Allen Scholarship is awarded to four High School or Prep School Seniors going on to college. The scholarships are awarded based on the individual's participation at school, within their community, and involvement in youth sports. Each Scholarship is for \$2000 and is deposited directly to the individuals account upon verification of enrollment at college.

In the year 2000, the New York State Amateur Hockey Association named their scholarships in honor of Bab Allen. Bob was President of the New York State Amateur Hockey Association for 17 years from 1978 until 1979. Bob was past Secretary and Vice President of USA Hockey (then AHAUS) and was bestowed with Director Emeritus status by both of these organizations. He was a charter member of the Lake Placid sports council and the Lake Placid Pee-Wee Hockey Association. Bob had a great passion for the sport of ice hockey and always enjoyed the people in hockey as much as he enjoyed the game of hockey.

In 2004, the U.S. Women's National Team locker room was named in honor of Bob, paying tribute to the man who spent most of his life working for hockey at the regional and national level. The locker room is located between the 1980 and U.S. rinks, and is reserved for use by the U.S. Women's National Team, which trains in Lake Placid. In 2005, Bob was recognized for his 40 years of service to USA Hockey. USA Hockey named the Women's Hockey Player of the Year award the "Bob Allen Women's Hockey Player of the Year Award". He was chairman of the gold medal winning U.S. Women's Ice Hockey Team in 1998 and is considered the "Godfather of US Women's Ice Hockey". Bob was also a member of the Lake Placid Olympic Organizing Committee, Chairman of Ice Hockey and Planning and engineering committees for the 1980 Olympics.

Winners of Bob Allen Scholarships:

- 2022 John Cahill, Taylor Curry, Dawson Miletich, Courtney Schum
- 2021 Kayla Cunningham, Emma Guzdek, Mia Lopata, Lian Syporowicz
- 2020 Catherine Eisenhut, Kylie Letham, Julia Roman, Corey Tye
- 2019 Emma Faso, Cory Foster, Evan Ketchabaw, Allison Watrous
- 2018 Jack Bookbinder, Matthew Derouchie, Benjamin Dwyer, Nikolle Vanstralen
- 2017 Jack Becker, Lindsay Browning, Andrew Kopplin, Michael Steffen
- 2016 Nicholas Barney, Zane Porterfield, William Sergio Jr., Elena Shelepak
- 2015 Alaina Celeste, Matthew Murray, Hans Schober, Matthew Steffan
- 2014 Jacob Bower, Andrew Caswell, Luke McCaffrey, Connor Paquin
- 2013 Andrew Barreca, Michael Harris, Jordan Ott, Matthew Wagner
- 2012 Anna Dievendorf, Danielle Faivus, Matthew Letourneau, Matthew Schattner
- 2011 Ciara VanCour, Robert Neff, Nicholas Guay, Taylor Burgio
- 2010 Conor Bennett, Mark Geise, Chelsea Hunt, Patrick Roll
- 2009 John Bulmer, Margaret Dievendorf, Connor Herdic, Michael Rudzinski
- 2008 Ian Greenwald, Kimberly Hunt, Ryan Lazarus, Jack Spallone
- 2007 Brandon Freeland, Sarah Hannon, Nathan Opet, Jonathon Smaldon
- 2006 Chelsea Eppolito, Cody Grant, Maria Nicolais, David Werner
- 2005 Genevieve King Lang, Tim Lloyd, Ciel Paige, Kevin Wigton
- 2004 Michael Ervolona, Kyle Kwaczala, Justin Mullen, Stephanie Sauda
- 2003 Margaret Jackson, Richard Matulewicz, John Paul Reed, Robert Stella
- 2002 Erica Colligan, Amber Leigh Gregorio, Joseph Morales, William Nash
- 2001 Jennelle Bauer, Jeffrey Rasmussen, Christopher Scully, Lee Stempniak

- 2000 Evan Chapman, Sean Conaway, Eric Gallion, Sean Garland 1999 Mark Branden, Nathan Bruno, Evan McCarthy, Eric Rasmussen

AFFILIATE MEMBER OF USA HOCKEY