JULY 25, 2014 • VOLUME 10 ISSUE 2

Presented by UNDER ARMOUR



SPOTLIGHT ON NFF CHAPTERS



A sold out crowd of more than 700 attended the Seventh Annual Minnesota Football Honors Awards Event hosted by the Minnesota Chapter. The event was held at the Hilton Minneapolis and was presented by the Minnesota Vikings. \$16,000 in scholarships were distributed to eight High School Scholar Athletes.



The Emo DiNitto/Rhode Island Chapter held their 27th Annual Awards Dinner in Warwick, R.I. A packed house saw the Silver and Golden Dozen Scholar-Athletes honored for their outstanding prep careers. The chapter's Distinguished American Award was presented to NFF Board Member and inductee into the NFF Leadership Hall of Fame, George Pyne. L-R: Chapter President, Emo DiNitto; former NFF board member and NFF National Scholar-Athlete Paul Choquette; Pyne; Brown head coach and guest speaker, Phil Estes.



New Wyoming head coach Craig Bohl was the guest speaker at the Wyoming Chapter's 20th Annual Scholar-Athlete Awards Dinner, held in Laramie. Bohl won three straight FCS National Championships at North Dakota State before taking over at Wyoming.



The Texas Tech Chapter honored 22 outstanding scholar-athletes at their Annual Scholar-Athlete Banquet. A total of \$25,000 in scholarships were distributed to this talented group.





The Casey-O'Brien New Haven Chapter keeps rolling along hosting their 54th anniversary banquet in North Haven, Conn. This talented group of scholar-athletes gathered for a photo just prior to the event where they entered to the music of "Mr. Touchdown."



The Tom Lombardo/St. Louis Chapter maintains a busy event calendar holding a luncheon series in the spring in addition to their annual Scholar-Athlete Awards Dinner. At their sold-out April luncheon, Missouri head coach Gary Pinkel was the guest speaker. Pictured L-R: Chapter membership chairman Tom Healey; coach Pinkel, luncheon emcee Randy Karraker; Tom Lombardo, son of chapter namesake Lt. Tom Lombardo.



Texas Tech head coach and former NFF National Scholar-Athlete Kliff Kingsbury congratulates Tech scholar-athlete Ryan Erxleben. As a punter for the Red Raiders, Erxleben was an Academic All-Big 12 performer.



The College Football Hall of Fame was well represented at the Minnesota Chapter banquet. Seated L-R: Ted Brown (NC State); Jim Christopherson (Concordia, MN); Barbara Foster, representing Sandy Stephens (Minnesota); John Gagliardi (Carroll, St. Johns); Leo Lewis III, representing father Leo Lewis II (Lincoln, MO). Standing L-R: Dave Casper (Notre Dame); Gene Washington (Michigan State); Randall McDaniel (Arizona State); Paul Wiggin (Stanford).





At the Wyoming Chapter's 20th Annual Scholar-Athlete Awards Banquet, \$23,400 in scholarships were distributed. To date, this outstanding chapter has awarded more than \$264,000 in scholarships. The Wyoming Chapter also has the largest membership of any chapter in the NFF network.



The Southeast Connecticut Chapter held their 33rd Annual Scholar-Athlete Awards Banquet at the Mohegan Sun in Uncasville.



Texas Tech athletics director Kirby Hocutt (right) presents the chapter's Distinguished West Texan Award to Dr. Rob King.



Award winners at the Casey-O'Brien/New Haven Chapter; L-R: Official Award, Bill Slater; retiring coach Rich Cavanaugh; chapter president and NFF Board Member Bill O'Brien; Distinguished American Joe Linta; Coach of the Year Thomas Brockett; Award of Merit Donald Scharf. Don Scharf has been a member of the chapter since its inception in 1960.



The Minnesota Chapter has successfully engaged the sports and business community as evidenced by the Minnesota Vikings coming on board as the presenting sponsor for the banquet. The Chapter's board of directors, seated L-R: John Shevlin; chapter president Sean Gothier; Todd Fultz; former NFF National Scholar-Athlete Bob Stein. Standing L-R: Gary Peterson; Ray Hitchcock; Eric Frankberg; Mark Sheffert.



This hard working group of board members has contributed to the Southeast Connecticut Chapter's success. L-R: Duane Maranda, Mike Ellis, Jim Buonocore, Jr., chapter president Robert Bacewicz, Mike Ellis, Jr., Mike Dimauro, Jemal Davis.



Peter Westerhaus (center) received the Courage Award for his determination in battling ulcerative colitis. Westerhaus was the state of Minnesota's 2010 Mr. Football and signed to play with the University of Minnesota but the disease has made his journey very difficult. Presenting the award is UM head coach Jerry Kill and the 2013 Courage Award winner Connor Cosgrove.



Casey-O'Brien/New Haven Chapter scholar-athlete Nicholas Crowle of Fairfield Prep receives his award from chairman Dan Martin as family members join in. Nick will stay close to home and play for Yale in the fall.





Texas Tech Chapter President Mark Ball addresses the crowd at its recent banquet. Ball, athletics director at Lubbock ISD, has done a tremendous job in turning the chapter around. Also in the photo are Rick Dykes and Bart Reagor from Reagor Dykes Auto Group who sponsor an \$8,000 scholarship in memory of former Tech coach Jess Stiles.



Tyler Julian from Sheridan High School was named the Wyoming Chapter Scholar-Athlete of the Year. The Wyoming Chapter continued its unique tradition of presenting each scholar-athlete with an "Honor Board," which contains a collage of photos and stories from their high school experience.



The Minnesota Chapter's Sid Hartman Media Award was presented to NBC Sports' Michele Tafoya. Tafoya began her career in Minneapolis covering the Vikings and Minnesota Gopher sports. Presenting the award is chapter president Sean Gothier.



Award winners from the Emo DiNitto/Rhode Island Chapter banquet included: L-R: John Abbate (Officials Award) and his wife Gabrielle, Pam and Gregg Drew (Contribution to Amateur Football), Helene and George Pyne (Distinguished American).