

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## VIKINGS TO RECOGNIZE TEAM'S 2015 AWARD WINNERS DURING "MINNESOTA FOOTBALL HONORS" AWARDS EVENT THIS SUNDAY, APRIL 17

## FOR FOURTH CONSECUTIVE YEAR, TEAM IS PRESENTING SPONSOR OF ANNUAL EVENT HONORING BEST IN MINNESOTA FOOTBALL

*Eden Prairie, MN (April 14, 2016)* – For the fourth consecutive year, the Minnesota Vikings will serve as the presenting sponsor of the Minnesota Chapter of the National Football Foundation's annual awards dinner. In its ninth year, the "Minnesota Football Honors" awards ceremony will take place this Sunday, April 17, at the Hilton Minneapolis, beginning with a 5 p.m. social hour followed by the dinner/program at 6 p.m.

With the prestigious event that honors outstanding individuals at all levels of Minnesota football, including legendary figures and the state's top scholar athletes, the Vikings will present 2015 team awards for Offensive, Defensive, and Special Teams Players of the Year. The organization will also recognize the Vikings Children's Fund Rookie of the Year and Community Man of the Year. Several Vikings winners will be in attendance to receive their awards.

Along with Vikings team honors, the following awards will be presented:

Bobby Bell College Impact Player of the Year – **Joshua Gordon** (Minnesota State University - Mankato) Bud Grant Distinguished Minnesotan Award – **Stan Nelson** (Augsburg College) Courage Award – **Casey O'Brien** (Cretin-Durham Hall High School) Fred Zamberletti Award – **Missy Strauch** (Augsburg College) Highlight of the Year Award – **SMB (St. Paul Academy, Minnehaha Academy and Blake) Wolfpack** In the Game Football Program of the Year Award – **Caledonia High School** John Gagliardi Legacy Award – **Grady Rostberg** (Hutchinson High School) Murray Warmath Legendary Team Award – **1975 Stillwater Ponies** (Minnesota State Championship Team) Sid Hartman Media Award – **Gene McGivern** (University of St. Thomas) Stacy Robinson Leadership Award – **Mohamed Mahamud** (Minneapolis Washburn High School) High School Scholar Athlete Award – **Jon Christenson** (University of Minnesota) High School Scholar Athlete:

- Matthew Biegler (Underwood High School)
- Isaac Collins (Maple Grove High School)
- Cory Dixon (Patrick Henry High School)
- Andrew Haldeman (Harding High School)
- Ethan Ishaug (Barnesville High School)
- Kiefer Miller (Nevis High School)
- Conner Olson (Monticello High School)
- Elijah Rice (St. Michael-Albertville High School)

For complete details on each of the award winners, click here.

For more information, please contact Vikings Public Relations Assistant **Sam Newton** at 952.828.8382.

www.vikings.com