AAHA Board Meeting Minutes Annual Board Meeting March 28th, 2022 – 7:00 p.m.

Meeting called to order at: 7:05 pm by Mike McCauley Motion to adjourn meeting at: Dylan Stenglein to motion, Rebecca Patrick to 2nd, meeting adjourned @ 9:47 pm. Minutes taken by: Joe Super Minutes typed by: Joe Super Members Present: Mike McCauley, Brian Pender, Dylan Stenglein, Joe Super, Paul Olson, Kol Huffman, Kristi Gibson, Tom Chrest, Anthony Mortinson, Matt Dreger, Sean Lafferty, Rebecca Patrick, Mike Hansen Members Absent: n/a Ancillary Members Present: Kim Brotkowski, Stephanie Reichow, Brandon Rykkeli, Ancillary Members Absent: Mike Orn Next Board Meeting: April 25th, 2022

APPROVE MINUTES:

Mike McCauley made a motion to approve the minutes from the Board Meeting held February 28th, 2022, motion passed with unanimous vote.

ANCILLARY MEMBERS REPORTS

GAMBLING REPORT/GAMING COMMITTEE REPORT: (Simone Schara)

Recap of charitable gambling sites for AAHA. Review of best practices

ICE SCHEDULER'S REPORT: (Brandon Rykkeli)

Recap of ice scheduling with rink renovation. Explanation of why some ice is allocated to other associations

REGISTRAR'S REPORT: (Stephanie Reichow)

Nothing to report

TREASURER AND FINANCE MANAGER REPORT: (Dylan Stenglein and Kim Brotkowski)

Dylan Stenglein recaps the 2021-2022 ice billing process.

PRESIDENT'S REPORT (Mike MacCauley):

Recap of the 2021-2022 season. Challenges, opportunities addressed. COVID challenges persist into portions of season

DIRECTOR REPORTS

TRAVELING (BOYS) (Matt Dreger)

Highlights of qualifying teams. Successes include player development, having fun

TRAVELING (GIRLS) (Paul Olson)

Expressed challenges associated with unknowns of Co-Op options (Rogers, Elk River). Looking for enhanced coaching recruitment

MITES - (Mike Hansen)

Recap of paid skating instruction, Mite Jamboree successes and outdoor challenges

TOURNAMENTS (Tony Mortinson)

(4) total tournaments, implemented GameSheet app for digital scoresheets. Revenue of over \$20K from tournament fees

RECRUITMENT & RETENTION (Rebecca Patrick)

Recap of Mini Cyclones. Great turnout after 2 years of canceled program (COVID). Appreciative of extra assistance from all traveling levels

EQUIPMENT/FACILITIES & GOALIES (Tom Chrest)

Recap of equipment procurement. Able to forecast jersey numbers, saving money on extra uniforms. Able to outfit goalies in need of equipment

FUNDRAISING & COMMUNICATIONS (Kol Huffman)

Highlights decreased costs of raffle ticket printing, 100% collection. Recap of communications touch points, topics

TRYOUTS (Mike McCauley)

Brief recap of tryout processes, challenges of vacant position part way through tryouts

PLAYER DEVELOPMENT (Sean Lafferty)

(4) Areas of focus: Pre-skate, FHIT/MEGA retention, Dryland remodeling, Summer Training program

VOLUNTEERS (Kristi Gibson)

Thank you to all volunteers, especially those who went beyond hour commitments. Encourage volunteers to go outside of comfortable roles (need GameSheet operators, score clock, etc)

New BUSINESS

- Question regarding timelines of the potential Co-Op decisions. Looking at around one month's time
 Looking at (1) Team for each level if there is no Co-Op
- Player Development Question. Statement of wide disparity of player development among coaching staff (inconsistencies)
- Thoughts on combing different age levels during practices to enhance group development, encouragement, etc
- Player development at the younger ages. Less of the "fun" aspect of practice, and more game-type development
- Suggestion for more weekday/paid ice for Mites
- Question on team declarations for 2022-2023 year
- Mite Move-Up Considerations for upcoming year

BOARD NOMINATIONS

(Tom Chrest, Matt Dreger, Mike Hansen, Sean Lafferty, Tony Mortinson, Paul Olson, Rebecca Patrick continue serving AAHA Board under existing terms)

- 1. Kol Huffman (nominated by Ross Johnson, 2nd by Ashley Christensen
- 2. Jeremy Mess (nominated by Megan Mess, 2nd by Chad Fierstine)
- 3. Brian Pender (nominated by Eric Carlson, 2nd by Audra Wander)
- 4. Mike McCauley (nominated Bethany Rice, 2nd by Audra Wander
- 5. Dylan Stenglein (nominated by Audra Wander, 2nd by Rebecca Patrick)
- 6. Kevin Byrnes (nominated by Dylan Stenglein, 2nd by Sean Lafferty)
- 7. Brittany Doering (nominated by Ryan Doering, 2nd by Rebecca Patrick)
- 8. Joe Super (nominated by Rebecca Patrick, 2nd by Jeff Riebe)
- 9. Audra Wander (nominated by Rebecca Patrick, 2nd by Stephanie Stenglein)
- 10. Kyle Ames (nominated Mike McCauley, 2nd by Trisha Blomquist)
- 11. TJ Lyon (nominated by Joe Brunner, 2nd by Scott Brown)
- 12. Mark Rice (nominated by Kara Cherrey, 2nd by Trisha Blomquist)
- 13. Scott Brown (nominated by Julie Williams, 2nd by TJ Lyon)
- 14. Jason Lindberg (nominated by Ashley Christensen, 2nd by Christine Berndt)

BOARD NOMINATION RESULTS

- 1. Jason Lindberg appointed to 2022-2023 AAHA Board (New Member)
- 2. TJ Lyon appointed to 2022-2023 AAHA Board (New Member)
- 3. Mark Rice appointed to 2022-2023 AAHA Board (New Member)
- 4. Audra Wander appointed to 2022-2023 AAHA Board (New Member)
- 5. Mike McCauley appointed to 2022-2023 AAHA Board (Re-Elected Member)
- 6. Brian Pender appointed to 2022-2023 AAHA Board (Re-Elected Member)
- 7. Joe Super appointed to 2022-2023 AAHA Board (Re-Elected Member)