

Annual General Meeting Minutes Meeting Check-in starts at 9:30 am Sunday December 10, 2023 – 10:00 am-11:30 am

Date of Meeting:	December 10, 2023	Location:	Zoom Conference Call
Minutes Prepared By:	Kelvin Cheng, OVA	Time:	10:00 A.M.

ONTARIO VOLLEYBALL ASSOCIATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS			
Katie Hutchinson	OVA President		
Christine Cook	Vice President Finance/Treasurer		
Daphne Choi	Vice President Administration/Secretary		
Danny Gosselin	Regional Council Director		
Leigh Pearson	Director-at-Large		
Michael Amoroso	Director-at-Large		
Kelsey Orth	Director-at-Large		
Howie Grossinger *	Director-at-Large		
Victoria Altomare	Athletes Representative		
	NOMINATION COMMITTEE		
Corinne Williams	Nominations Committee Chair		
REFEREES COMMITTEE			
Andrew Robb			
ONTARIO VOLLEYBALL ASSOCIATION STAFF			
Jo-Anne Ljubicic	Executive Director		
Jennifer Harkness	Director of Finance & Administration		

^{*}not in attendance

- 1. Call to Order
 - a. Katie Hutchinson calls meeting to order
 - b. Jo-Anne introduces OVA staff members
 - c. Katie introduces the OVA board
- 2. Establishment of Quorum
 - a. Over 30 people checked in
 - b. Quorum established
- 3. Introduction of Scrutineers
 - a. Online voting software Simply Voting
 - b. Contact Kerish and Suzanne for voting help
- 4. Approval of the Agenda

MOTION: To approve the agenda as presented

Tauri Caputo/Alex
Park

CARRIED

- 5. Declaration of any Conflicts of Interest
 - a. None
- 6. Adoption of Minutes of the previous Annual Meeting

MOTION: To approve the previous annual meeting minutes through Simply Voting

Tauri Caputo/Richard Beedham CARRIED

- 7. Board and Committee Chair Reports
 - a. Board of Directors Katie Hutchinson
 - Thanks to board members and outgoing personnel Kelsey Orth & Daphne Choi
 - ii. Revamping safe sport and understanding OSIC and DSO
 - iii. Strategic plan
 - 1. Athlete development, coaching culture, club connection
 - iv. New policies around Team Ontario
 - v. Community engagement and committees
 - b. Governance Committee Daphne Choi
 - i. ONCA compliance
 - ii. Board member onboarding is a priority
 - c. Regional Council Danny Gosselin
 - i. Engage community and club leaders through survey and gathering feedback
 - ii. IVDC tackling tryout window
 - d. Athletes' Council Victoria Altomare

- i. Driven by athletes
- ii. 13-18U, coaches, past members, variety of POVs
- iii. Input on strategic planning and OVA policies
- iv. Post-secondary recruiting led by members of the council
- e. Referee Committee Andrew Robb
 - i. Referee numbers have rebounded along with athletes
 - ii. Referee recruitment and retention through OVA lining and scoring
 - iii. Referees going to Youth Nationals and working on the RDT
 - iv. Record number of 7 nominations for CCAA and U Sport from Ontario
 - v. Renzo Milan Hall of Fame and Ed Yu Award of Merit posthumously
 - vi. Thanks to referee committee and staff to ensure events are running
- **8.** Presentation of the Annual Report
- 9. Presentation of Audited Financial Statements
 - a. Clean audit opinion
 - b. No management recommendations
 - c. A lot of cash on hand as part of contingency fund, better return than investments
 - d. Assets include regional funds
 - e. OTF grant, able to purchase more sport court
 - f. Huge jumps in activity and revenue
 - g. Club grant from last year one off
 - h. Sponsorships up because of Enercare
 - i. Investments up because of bank account
 - j. Able to manage expenses, more activity
- **10.** Appointment of Auditor
 - a. MacNeill Edmundson Professional Corp
 - b. Christine happy to recommend and put to vote

MOTION: To appoint MacNeill Edmundson Professional Corporation as the auditor

John Curtis /Andrew Robb CARRIED

- 11. New Business/Questions (if any submitted)
 - a. Able to submit questions in chat
- 12. Approve By-Law Amendments
 - a. Compliance with ONCA, add provision for different membership class as required
 - b. Clarification of board eligibility and service limits
 - i. 9 base members plus appointed directors
 - ii. Don't need to be a member to be an independent candidate for board
 - iii. Service limits, closing loophole
 - iv. More consistency around signing authority
 - c. Adding more clarity around bylaws

MOTION: To approve the new bylaw amendments as presented

Brad Miller/Richard Beedham

13. Election of New Directors

- a. Vice-President Secretary/Admin
 - i. Congratulations to Paul Bonfigli, acclaimed, no other candidates
- b. Athletes' Representative
 - i. Congratulations to Victoria Altomare, acclaimed, no other candidates
- c. Director at Large
 - i. Andrew Nichols
 - 1. Volleyball family, non-profit and for profit experience, support high performance program and operations
 - 2. Which committee would you be interested in working in?
 - a. Strategic planning
 - b. High performance
 - 3. Corporate sponsorship?
 - a. Biosteel and Crocs Canada, creating winnable solutions to get fundraising, create partnerships and find brands that represent feelings to expand possible businesses
 - ii. Brad Graham
 - 1. Was on board of directors about 20-30 years ago, involved since 1981, is a coach, referee, coach evaluator and facilitator
 - 2. Which committee would you be interested in working in?
 - a. Athlete development, grassroots, officials, coach development
 - 3. Corporate sponsorship?
 - a. Educator, getting funding for schools, would need support of members
 - iii. Derek Dedman
 - 1. Not present on the call
- d. Ballot remains at 3 candidates
- e. Congratulations to Andrew Nichols as the new Director at Large
- 14. Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned all agenda items completed.

Next Annual Meeting December 8, 2024.

Attendance List

Voting Members

Park

Alex

Andrea Dhanoa Andrew **Nichols** Andrew Robb Brad Graham Cindy Weese Diahann Mahon Don Morton Dwayne Cochrane Greg Albert Greg Worley Irena Zamboni John Curtis Julie Gordon Julie DiGregorio Kim Dresser Laura Gallacher Martin Gauthier paul bonfigli Qin Lin Godmaire Rej Richard Beedham Shaun Illingworth Tauri Caputo Vishnu Persaud William Kidda John Navarrete Kristen **Nichols** Amanda King Shane Williamson Matt

Matt Sommerville
Corinne Williams
Amanda King
Brad Miller
Marilyn Lunn
Cindy Weese
Fayrial Leung
Greg Worley

Non-Voting Members

Davaska Ferguson Ireland Laurie Natalie Wong Shane Williamson Annette Nunno John Kirakui Clint Hunter Donovan Bumanglag Dyan Heson Kim Dresser David Wildboer Susan Hammond Zarah Cohen James Schulz Debbie Flack Chris Lopez Irving Ηо Anthony Fong

OVA Staff

Jo-Anne Ljubicic

Jennifer Harkness

Alishia Lidums

Louis-Pierre Mainville

Carrie Campbell

Dylan Brennand

Kerish Maharaj

Mario Rando

Kelvin Cheng

Mark Wiersma

Jacob Barker

George Huffman

Angie Shen

Mario Rando

Mylene Andrade