Reagan Golf Rules Test Answers

1) Name the five areas of the golf course. Tee, General, Hazard, Bunker and Green
2) What height do you drop the ball? knee
3) How long can you search for a lost ball? 3 minutes
4) If you think a ball is lost or out of bounds you “should” hit a _provisional__ before going to look for the ball.
5) Is there a penalty if you hit yourself or your equipment? No
6) Loose impediments can be removed from which of the five areas of the golf course? All
7) What is the penalty if you move your ball removing loose impediments? Replace the ball, 1 stroke in all area but the green
8) What is the penalty if you accidently move your ball while searching for it? None and you replace it in the condition it you found it
9) Is a divot considered ground under repair? no
10) Can you touch the ground or the water in a penalty area? yes
11) Should you mark your golf ball before a round so you can identify it? yes
12) Do you need to mark your ball with a tee when you go to identify your ball in the general area? yes
13) If your ball is resting against a movable obstruction and your ball moves when you remove the moveable obstruction what is the penalty? no penalty and replace the ball
14) You may drop with free relief from Abnormal Course Conditions which include (immovable obstructions, ground under repair, temporary water, animal holes) you must drop within _1___ club lengths once you take complete relief.
15) Name the three forms of relief you may take from an unplayable ball in the general area and how many penalty strokes? 1) 2 club lengths from the ball; 2)along the line keeping the ball between you and the flagstick go back as far as you want and drop within one club length and 3) play from the original position with 1 stroke penalty.
16) Name the other option for an unplayable in a bunker and how many penalty strokes? keeping the ball between you and the flagstick you may go outside the bunker and drop within 1 club length of the line. 2 penalty strokes
17) If you play the wrong ball what MUST you do to correct the situation? play the original ball and add two strokes from that point.
18) Can you identify your ball in the bunker? How? Yes mark it with a tee and identify it without cleaning it (unless needed for identification) and replace it.
19) Can you play your ball from the penalty area? Is there a penalty? yes, no penalty
20) Can you identify your ball in a penalty area? How? Yes mark it with a tee and identify it without cleaning it (unless needed for identification) and replace it.
21) If any part of the golf ball touches the line of the penalty area is it considered in the penalty area? yes
22) What are your two options for dropping outside of a yellow penalty area? How many penalty strokes? 1)along the line keeping the spot where it last crossed the penalty area between you and the flagstick go back as far as you want and drop within one club length and 2) play from the original position with 1 stroke penalty.
23) What is the third option for dropping from a red penalty area? How many penalty strokes? two club lengths from where it last crossed the hazard.
24) Can you get free relief from an immovable obstruction (like a bridge) in a penalty area? no
25) Can you move an out of bounds stake? no
26) If any part of the golf ball touches the line of the out of bounds is it in bounds? yes
27) Can you break a limb off a tree or bush so you can hit the ball? no
28) If you take a practice stroke in the general area and the ball moves what do you do and is there a penalty and what do you do?  1 penalty stroke and this is not considered a stroke, the ball must be returned to its original position.
29) If you take a practice stroke on the green and the ball moves is there a penalty in the green and what do you do?  No penalty and you must replace the ball to its original position                   
30) If your ball moves when marking the ball on the green what do you do? Is there a penalty? Replace the ball and no penalty
31) If your ball moves on the putting green after you marked it and replaced it what do you do? Replace the ball and no penalty
32) If your ball accidently hits the flagstick after it has been removed and put aside is there a penalty and where do you play the ball? No penalty and ball is played as it lies.
33) If a ball is hit by another ball and is moved as a result which ball must be replaced? When is it a penalty and when is it not? How many strokes is the penalty? The ball initially at rest MUST be replaced to its original position. Only when a person is making a putt and hits a ball at rest on the green is it a penalty then it is a 2 stroke penalty.
34) If the ball is moved by an outside agency, e.g. by a fellow-player, a spectator or an animal, what do you do? You put it back in the original location there is no penalty
35) Can you take a practice swing in a penalty area? yes
36) Can you take a practice swing in a bunker? no
37) If your ball lands on a green other than the one you are playing, what “must” you do? Take complete relief and drop within one club length, your feet cannot be touching the green when you swing.
38) When you are unsure of what relief you wish to take you should play two balls and indicate to your playing partner which one you expect to count. You should mark the second ball differently from the first. When you are finished playing you “MUST” contact whom to discuss which ball is to count? Discuss the situation with the committee afterwards to let them know of what happened and let them make the decision before you sign your scorecard.
