
1

Team A is wearing pink uniforms 
with white and black fabric trim 

around the neck and arm 
openings. A1, A2, and A3 are 

wearing white undershirts. The 
officials:

Assess one administrative 
technical foul to Team A and 
permit the players to play.

 Assess three administrative 
technical fouls to team A and 

permit the players to play.

Do not permit the players 
to play until the situation 

is corrected.

2

When a player loses a contact, 
they may only look for the lost 

contact for a one minute unless a 
team calls a timeout to continue to 

look for the contact during the 
timeout period. Is this true?

Yes No

3

Near the end of the quarter when 
the game clock or shot clock is 
near five seconds, the C official 
will communicate with partners 
by signaling with the hand-on-
chest signal they are taking 

responsibility for the last second 
shot in each quarter. Is this 

correct?

Yes No

4

A ball that touches the front face or 
edges of the backboard is treated 

the same as touching the floor 
inbounds, except that, when the 

ball touches the thrower’s 
backboard, it does not constitute a 
part of a dribble. Is this correct?

Yes No

5

At the end of a quarter when try is 
released and is successful, the 
official will sound their whistle, 
followed by the proper signal 

counting the basket using only the 
goal-counts signal for a two-point 
goal or the successful three-point 
signal and use the end-of-quarter 
signal after the goal-counts signal.

Yes No

6

The first or only free-throw 
violation by the offense causes the 
ball to become dead immediately. 

Is this correct?

Yes No
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7

If the ball goes through the basket 
before or after an offensive foul, 
the goal shall not be counted. Is 

this correct?

Yes No

8

During a timeout, when the 
warning horn sounds, the non-

administering officials will move 
from their spots toward the 

nearest team huddle, maintaining 
a distance of 10-15 feet away with 

each official raising their index 
finger and verbalizing “first horn.” 
When either team is not ready to 
play following the sounding of the 
final horn, the officials will wait 
patiently until they are ready. Is 

this correct?

Yes No

9

The proper sequence for calling a 
foul includes the official sounding 
the whistle with one blast only and 

then raising one hand, fist 
clenched, above head to stop the 

clock. Is this correct?

Yes No

10

While A1’s try is in flight, A2 
commits a personal foul against 

B2. The try is successful. Team B 
is not in the bonus. From what 

location will Team B’s awarded 
throw-in be made?

From the out-of-bounds spot 
nearest to the location of the 

foul.

From any point outside the 
end line.

11

It is permissible for the game-
clock and shot-clock operator to 

be the same person. Is this 
correct?

Yes No

12

A ball in flight from a pass has the 
same relationship to frontcourt or 
backcourt, or inbounds or out of 
bounds, as when it last touched a 

person or the floor. Is this correct?

Yes No

13
What is the correct throw-in spot 

when there is a double foul?
Out of bounds spot nearest to 
the location of the double foul.

Out of bounds at the one of the 
four spots nearest to the 

location of the double foul.

Out of bounds spot 
nearest to the location of 

the ball.



14

When replay is used to determine 
whether a goal shall count or be 

canceled during a play when a foul 
is committed by or against a 

teammate of the shooter, the foul 
occurs when the illegal contact is 
observed and not when the official 

signals the foul. Is this correct?

Yes No

15

Regarding correctable errors, the 
play sequence for correcting an 
error is the same whether or not 

the game clock is running or 
stopped. Is this correct?

Yes No

16

When a dribbler passes an 
opponent sufficiently to have their 
head and both shoulders beyond 
the front of the opponent’s torso, 

the greater responsibility for 
subsequent contact shall be that of 

the opponent. Is this correct?

Yes No

17

During a timeout, Team A’s 
assistant coach goes out onto the 
playing court and past the 28-foot 
line to observe what is happening 

in the opponent’s huddle. The 
officials shall notify Team A’s head 
coach that the assistant coach has 

been warned for leaving the bench 
area. Is this correct?

Yes No

18
Disconcertion applies to 

opponents on the playing court or 
bench personnel. Is this correct?

Yes No

19

An airborne shooter who is fouled 
by an opponent while in the air but 

after the ball is released is 
considered to be in the act of 

shooting until that airborne shooter 
returns to the floor with both feet.

Yes No

20

Once a team is issued a warning 
for one of the four delay situations, 
any subsequent delay results in a 

technical foul. Is this correct?

Yes No



21

A double personal foul involves 
only personal fouls and only two 
opponents; no free throws are 

awarded, and the ball is put in play 
at the point of interruption. Fouls of 

equal gravity involve either: 1) 
technical fouls, 2) intentional fouls, 
or 3) disqualifying fouls when the 
number of free throws is equal 
and play resumes in the same 

manner; no free throws are 
awarded, and the ball is put in play 
at the point of interruption. Is this 

correct?

Yes No

22

When a dribble-drive play 
originates from the L's primary, 

the L will be responsible for 
primary coverage of the primary 
defender and the C and T official 
will share primary responsibility 
for secondary defenders based on 
who has an open look at the play. 

Is this correct?

Yes No

23

The jump ball restrictions for the 
jumpers end in the same manner 
that they end for the nonjumpers. 

Is this correct?

Yes No

24

A1 dribbles the ball into their 
team’s frontcourt when B1 

deflects the ball into Team A’s 
backcourt and out of bounds 

across the end line. There are 18 
seconds on the shot clock. Team 
A is granted a new 10 seconds to 

advance the ball into their 
frontcourt. Is this correct?

Yes No



25

When free throws are to be 
awarded for a personal foul, the 
offended player is awarded the 
merited free throws. When free 

throws are awarded for a 
technical, intentional, or 

disqualifying foul, any member of 
the offended team may attempt the 

free throws. Is this correct?

Yes No

26

Officials must have definitive 
knowledge of the time to be placed 

on the game or shot clock when 
the officials have knowledge that 
the game or shot clock failed to 

stop on the official’s signal. Is this 
correct?

Yes No

27

When reporting a restricted-area 
blocking foul to the scorer, the 

calling official will state the color 
of the jersey and the player’s 

number who fouled then signal the 
blocking foul and point to the floor 

in front of the official. Is this 
correct?

Yes No

28

A player whose momentum 
causes that player to go out of 

bounds may be the first to touch 
the ball inbounds if that player 

reestablishes one foot inbounds 
prior to touching the ball. Is this 

correct?

Yes No

29

The referee shall ensure that the 
home and visiting teams are 
wearing contrasting-colored 

uniforms. Is this correct?

Yes No

30

A1, dribbling quickly toward the 
basket, attempts to end their 

dribble by grabbing the ball. Both 
of A1’s hands touch the ball, but 

A1 fumbles the ball. While 
fumbling the ball, A1 takes three 
steps. When A1 finally controls 
the ball, both feet are in contact 

with the playing court. The official 
rules this a legal play. Is this 

correct?

Yes No



31

“Continuous motion” applies to 
both tries and taps for field goals 

and free throws, but it has no 
significance unless there is a foul 
by the defense during the interval 

that begins when the habitual 
trying or tapping movement starts 
and ends when the ball is clearly 

in flight. Is this correct?

Yes No

32

When a defender’s body contact, 
such as the defender’s body 

bumping or leaning their torso on 
the dribbler, affect the rhythm, 
speed, balance, or quickness of 
the ball handler, or reroutes the 
ball handler from their desired 

path, a foul has been committed 
by the defender. Is this correct?

Yes No

33

When a double whistle 
unnecessarily occurs in one 

official’s primary, is immediately 
recognized, and both officials are 

confident they have the same 
calls, the call is then released by 
the non-primary official and taken 
by the official with primary-area 

responsibilities. The officials 
should not bounce the call back 

and forth to one another. The 
primary official should say “I’ve 
got it” and take it, and only one 

official should be giving the 
appropriate signal. Is this correct?

Yes No

34

The jump ball, the throw-in, and 
the free throw are the only 

methods of making a dead ball 
live. Is this correct?

Yes No

35

While the ball is live, an assistant 
coach or manager is permitted to 
go to the official scorer to obtain 

information. Is this correct?

Yes No



36

On drives originating from the T's 
primary, when there are multiple 
defenders, the T will continue to 

officiate the primary defender and 
the L will officiate the help 

defender(s). Is this correct?

Yes No

37

A goal is made when a live ball 
enters the basket from above and 

remains in or passes through 
unless canceled by a throw-in 
violation or an offensive foul. Is 

this correct?

Yes No

38

Regardless of where the throw-in 
spot is located, the throw-in team 
may cause the ball to go into the 
backcourt before player control 

has been established by the throw-
in team on the playing court. Is 

this correct?

Yes No

39

When replay triggers an electronic-
media timeout, the replay review 
and electronic-media timeout shall 
run concurrently. When the results 

of the replay review are 
communicated to both head 

coaches and the scorer after the 
end of the electronic-media 

timeout, the officials shall instruct 
the timer to sound a warning horn 
and another horn 15 seconds later. 
Any substitute(s) wishing to enter 
the game must report prior to the 

final horn. Is this correct?

Yes No



40

When the timeout was granted, 
A1, A2, A3, A4, and A5 were 

players in the game. Following the 
timeout, those players plus A6 are 
playing in the game. The officials 
recognize that Team A has six 

players participating in the game 
and determine that A6 is the 
“extra” player. The officials 

assess a technical foul to A6. Is 
this correct?

Yes No

41

When an out of bounds violation 
occurs on the T’s sideline below 

the free-throw line and not 
recognized by the T, the L official 

is permitted to call this out of 
bounds violation. Is this correct?

Yes No

42

There are 5 feet between the end 
line and a wall. Team A’s 

cheerleaders are located as close 
to the wall as possible. The 

officials inform game 
management that while the ball is 
live the cheerleaders may not be 
in this location. Is this correct?

Yes No

43

When the dribbler touches the ball 
with both hands simultaneously, 

even if the ball is not subsequently 
controlled, the dribble has ended. 

Is this correct?

Yes No

44

During a throw-in by A1, players 
A2, A3, and A4 stand one behind 

the other perpendicular to the 
boundary line in front of A1. B1 

wishes to occupy a spot between 
A1 and A2. The official rules that 
B1 is not entitled to this spot. Is 

this correct?

Yes No



45

When a player fakes being fouled 
and/or embellishes incidental 
contact, the official in primary 

coverage should shake their head 
from side to side to indicate their 
judgement on the play is a no-call 

due to the player faking being 
fouled. Is this the proper 

mechanic?

Yes No

46

A defender must first obtain and 
maintain a legal guarding position 
before verticality applies. Is this 

correct?

Yes No

47

While the ball remains live, a 
loose ball always remains in 

control of the team whose player 
last had control, unless it is a try 

for goal. Is this correct?

Yes No

48

When a fight occurs, the official 
shall inform the offender(s), the 

head coach, and the official scorer 
that an ejection for fighting has 

occurred (the official scorer shall 
note this in the scorebook). Is this 

correct?

Yes No

49 How deep are the unmarked 
spaces around the center circle?

1 foot 2 feet 3 feet 4 feet

50
The philosophy of officiating 

women’s basketball follows these 
guidelines:

Allow freedom of movement.
Call obvious violations, fouls 

and rough play.
Incidental contact is not a 

foul.

 Consistent 
application of the 

rules and 
mechanics.

All of the of the 
above A and D

51

The only infractions for which 
points are awarded are 

goaltending by the defense or 
basket interference at the 

opponent’s basket. Is this correct?

Yes No

52
Leg tights must be two-legged and 

of equal length. Is this correct? Yes No

53 It is not possible to travel during a 
dribble. Is this correct?

Yes No



54

When an official is not sure what 
to rule on a “block/charge” play, 

the ruling should default to a 
blocking foul. Is this correct?

Yes No

55

A1 is dribbling the ball and the ball 
contacts B1’s foot. A1 then 

controls the ball with both hands 
and then dribbles the ball. The 
official rules this a traveling 

violation. Is this correct?

Yes No

56

The official rules a contact 
disqualifying foul but goes to 

replay to verify the severity of the 
act. Based upon the replay review, 

what may be penalized?

Contact disqualifying foul Intentional foul Personal foul

If there was no 
illegal contact, the 
foul ruling may be 
reversed with no 

foul charged.

If there was no 
contact, the foul 
ruling may be 

reversed with no 
foul charged.

A, B, C, and D A, B, C, and E

57

When a player executes a legal 
jump stop by ending their dribble 
with both feet off the playing court 

and landing simultaneously on 
both feet, they may not pivot on 

either foot. Is this correct?

Yes No

58

Time and distance are not factors 
when obtaining legal guarding 

position on an opponent in control 
of the ball. Is this correct?

Yes No

59

Neither the dribble nor traveling 
rule is in effect during the jump 

ball, throw-in, or free throw. Is this 
correct?

Yes No

60

When needing help on an out-of-
bounds call, the primary official 

sounds the whistle, gives the stop-
clock signal and will look in the 

direction of the nearest non-calling 
official and verbalize “help.” When 
the nearest non-calling official has 

definitive knowledge, they will 
sound the whistle, call out the 
color of the team entitled to the 

ball and give the direction signal. 
The primary official will then 

mirror this information.

Yes No



61

A1 ends their dribble with their 
right foot in contact with the 

playing court. A1 jumps off their 
right foot and lands on their left 
foot followed by their right foot. 

The official rules that A1 
committed a traveling violation. Is 

this correct?

Yes No

62

Following a rebound, A1 advances 
the ball toward their team’s 
frontcourt while A2 is injured 
behind the play. The officials:

signal for play to be stopped 
immediately.

permit Team A to complete a 
play.

63

While A1’s try is in flight, the shot-
clock horn sounds. The try fails to 

strike the ring or flange and the 
official sounds their whistle. The 

violation occurs when:

the shot-clock horn sounds the official sounds their 
whistle

64

When a team is wearing an illegal 
uniform (e.g., white number on a 

white jersey or logos that are 
larger than permitted by rule), the 
officials will report the infraction to 
the coordinator who is responsible 
for the game assignment. Is this 

correct?

Yes No

65

When a held ball occurs, the 
official will stop the clock using 
the held ball signal OR the stop-
clock signal followed by the held 

ball signal.

Yes No

66

When a defender fakes contact 
(commonly referred to as 

flopping) when there is no contact, 
it is a player/substitute technical 

foul for misconduct. Is this 
correct?

Yes No

67

Prior to the bonus, when the 
defense commits a personal foul 
at any point inside the three-point 
line, the subsequent throw-in is 
made from the end line. Is this 

correct?

Yes No



68

When an official in primary 
coverage on a play does not have 
a call and there are bodies on the 
floor, the official should extend 

their arms to their side with palms 
facing up to indicate that they do 
not know what happened on the 

play. Is this the proper mechanic?

Yes No

69

Neither a team nor any player is 
ever in control during a dead ball 
or when the ball is in flight during 

a try or tap for goal. Is this 
correct?

Yes No

70

A live-ball foul by the offense 
(team in control or last in control if 
the ball is loose) or the expiration 
of time for a quarter or overtime, 
causes the ball to become dead 
immediately, unless the ball is in 
flight during a try or tap for goal. 

The ball also becomes dead when 
an offensive foul occurs. Is this 

correct?

Yes No

71

There are 3.4 seconds on the shot 
clock when A1’s throw-in is 
immediately deflected out of 
bounds by B1. The shot clock 

displays 3.3 seconds. The officials 
rule that the shot clock be set to 

3.1. seconds. Is this correct?

Yes No

72

A player may not gain control of 
the ball and attempt a try when 

there is 0.3 seconds or less 
remaining in a shot-clock period. 

Is this correct?

Yes No



73

An immediate substitute shall be 
required when a timeout has been 
granted for a player who is injured 
or bleeding, has a blood-saturated 
uniform, or has a lost, irritated, or 

displaced contact lens and that 
player is not ready to resume play 
after the final horn that indicates 
the expiration of the timeout. The 
opponents shall be permitted to 

counter with a substitution. Is this 
correct?

Yes No

74
Whether the clock is running or is 

stopped has no influence on the 
counting of a goal. Is this correct?

Yes No

75

With 2:29 remaining in the second 
period, A1 fouls B1. Team B is in 
the bonus, but the officials fail to 
award B1 their two free throws. 
While B1 is dribbling the ball on 
the court, the ball is deflected by 

Team A out of bounds with 2:21 on 
the game clock. The official sees 
the 5th team foul posted on the 

scoreboard. Which of the 
following is correct?

Award B1 their two free 
throws with players in 

marked lane spaces and 
reset the game clock to 2:29.

Award B1 their two free 
throws with players in marked 

lane spaces and leave the 
game clock at 2:21.

Award B1 their two free 
throws with no players in 

marked lane spaces, 
reset the game clock to 
2:29 and resume play at 
the point of interruption.

Award B1 their 
two free throws 

with no players in 
marked lane 

spaces, leave the 
game clock at 

2:21 and resume 
play at the point of 

interruption.


