AAHA Board Meeting Minutes Annual Board Meeting March 27th, 2023 - 7:00 p.m.

Meeting called to order at: 7:05 pm by Mike McCauley

Motion to adjourn meeting at: Mike McCauley to motion, Brian Pender to 2nd, meeting adjourned @ 9:47 pm.

Minutes taken by: Joe Super Minutes typed by: Joe Super

Members Present: Mike McCauley, Brian Pender, Tom Chrest, Joe Super, Paul Olson, Audra Wander, TJ Lyon, Anthony

Mortinson, Matt Dreger, Sean Lafferty, Rebecca Patrick, Mike Hansen, Jason Lindberg

Members Absent: Mark Rice

Ancillary Members Present: Kim Brotkowski, Stephanie Reichow, Brandon Rykkeli,

Ancillary Members Absent: Mike Orn Next Board Meeting: April 24th, 2023

APPROVE MINUTES:

Motion to dispense with verbal reading of meeting minutes and approved digital posting on AAHA website. Motion by Audra Wander, 2nd by Mike Hansen. Motions passes

Mike McCauley made a motion to approve the minutes from the Board Meeting held February 27th, 2023, motion passed with unanimous vote.

ANCILLARY MEMBERS REPORTS

GAMBLING REPORT/GAMING COMMITTEE REPORT: (Simone Schara) Recap of charitable gambling sites for AAHA. Review of best practices

ICE SCHEDULER'S REPORT: (Brandon Rykkeli)

Review of purchase of all available ice from AAIA. Review of ice sold to additional associations

REGISTRAR'S REPORT: (Stephanie Reichow) Review of Registrar role & responsibilities

TREASURER AND FINANCE MANAGER REPORT: (Tom Chrest & Kim Brotkowski)

Tom Chrest recaps the 2022-2023 ice billing process. Review of billing refund due to charitable gambling

PRESIDENT'S REPORT (Mike McCauley):

Recap of the 2021-2022 season. Challenges, opportunities addressed. COVID challenges persist into portions of season

DIRECTOR REPORTS

TRAVELING (BOYS) (Matt Dreger)

Review of Boys Director responsibilities. Recap of CoachThem, online coaching tool. Review of Level Coordinators

TRAVELING (GIRLS) (Paul Olson)

Review of Girls teams & levels

MITES - (Mike Hansen)

Recap of paid skating instruction, Mite Jamboree successes and outdoor challenges. Increased Mite ice deemed a success

TOURNAMENTS (Tony Mortinson)

(4) total tournaments, continuation of GameSheet app for digital scoresheets. Revenue of over \$14K from tournament fees. Always looking for additional DIBS help

RECRUITMENT & RETENTION (Rebecca Patrick)

Focus on the youngest levels. Over 100 kids register for Try Hockey for Free. Another year of increased Mite & Mini Cyclones numbers. Great participation from all traveling levels & High School. Rock the Rink recap

EQUIPMENT/FACILITIES & GOALIES (Jason Lindberg)

Review of Equipment Director responsibilities. Focus on organizing, updating & providing new/gently used goalie equipment

FUNDRAISING & COMMUNICATIONS (Audra Wander)

Review of Communications, including picture scheduling. Every eligible member participated in raffle, just over \$40K in revenue. Rock the Rink fundraising review

TRYOUTS (Mike McCauley for Mark Rice)

(225) skaters & (12) goalies. Closed tryouts back at Anoka this year. Review of TryoutEngine software

PLAYER DEVELOPMENT (Sean Lafferty)

(4) Areas of focus: Francisco Checking Clinic, FHIT/MEGA retention & improvements, increased Dryland usage, Summer Training program

VOLUNTEERS (TJ Lyon)

Thank you to Volunteers that went above & beyond minimum requirement. Request for volunteers to go outside of comfortable roles (need GameSheet operators, score clock, etc)

NEW BUSINESS

- Anoka/Rogers Co-Op Updates
- Player Development F5 Summer Camp will continue with current HS Staff
- Coach Selection Process & Recruitment
- Tryout Processes
- Question on team declarations for 2022-2023 year

New board members voted in:
Melissa Thalin
Ashley Christensen
Jay Wagamon
Mike Shouviller
Corey Schmidt
Matt Satzinger
Tom Chrest *Returning member
Mike Hansen *Returning member
Rebecca Patrick *Returning member

New exec members voted in: Tom Chrest, President Mike Hansen - Vice president Audra Wander - Treasure Rebecca Patrick - Secretary

BOARD NOMINATIONS

(Joe Super, Brian Pender, Mike McCauley, Jason Lindberg, TJ Lyon continue serving AAHA Board under existing terms)

- 1. Jay Wagamon (Nominated by Darren Wong, 2nd by Mike Hansen)
- 2. Matt Satzinger (Nominated by Matt Dreger, 2nd by TJ Lyon)
- 3. Mike Hansen (Nominated by Brian Pender, 2nd by Audra Wander)
- 4. Melissa Thalin (Nominated by Kevin Byrnes, 2nd by Trisha Finney)
- 5. Nicole Belleavoine (Nominated by Brittany Doering, 2nd by Rebecca Patrick)
- 6. Jeremy Peterson (Nominated by Jay Wagamon, 2nd by Ashley Christensen)
- 7. Brittany Doering (Nominated by Sara Wollsey, 2nd by Nicole Belleavoine)
- 8. Tom Chrest (Nominated by Mike McCauley 2nd by Kevin Byrnes)
- 9. Ashley Christensen (Nominated by Sara Lyon 2nd by Jason Lindberg)
- 10. Rebecca Patrick (Nominated by Angie Couldren, 2nd by Audra Wander)
- 11. Phil Suess (Nominated by Mike Hansen 2nd by Rebecca Patrick)
- 12. Cory Schmidt (Nominated by Tom Chrest 2nd by Joy Chrest)
- 13. Mike Schouviller (Nominated by Jay Wagamon, 2nd by Joe Brunner)

BOARD NOMINATION RESULTS

- 1. Tom Chrest elected to 2023-2024 AAHA Board (Reelected Member)
- 2. Ashley Christensen elected to 2022-2023 AAHA Board (New Member)
- 3. Mike Hansen elected to 2023-2024 AAHA Board (Reelected Member)
- 4. Rebecca Patrick elected to 2023-2024 AAHA Board (Reelected Member)
- 5. Matt Satzinger elected to 2022-2023 AAHA Board (New Member)
- 6. Cory Schmidt elected to 2022-2023 AAHA Board (New Member)
- 7. Mike Schouviller elected to 2022-2023 AAHA Board (New Member)
- 8. Melissa Thalin elected to 2022-2023 AAHA Board (New Member)
- 9. Jay Wagamon elected to 2022-2023 AAHA Board (New Member)Mike